The Destination

prague_jlw

Coming up with a plan for the future is a wonderful function of the human brain. With plans set we have a direction; having control of our lives to some extent gives us a sense of security and well-being. When you have a plan for life that you are happy with, you believe that everything is coming together and that everything will be all right once you reach your destination. And in some cases that’s absolutely true. Maybe that is why the plan makes you so happy, because you have a high level of certainty that it means life is looking up for you.

However, it is easy to slip into the idea that once a certain date rolls around and your plan slides into action, everything will be fixed. Your happiness will be secure, you will smile everyday when you wake up, and that until that day, nothing really matters. It is a false state of security to fall into, the idea that today doesn’t matter because the plan you set out hasn’t started yet. You haven’t reached the point where you are able to carry out your dreams, so why work hard today? To sum my point up in a succinct way: it is easy to lose focus on today when you are more focused on the plans in your future. However beautiful the future looks, the only way you will attain that future is taking full advantage of today, everyday.

I am moving to New York City in June of next year and it has been difficult for me to stay focused on the present. I am so excited and determined to make it to the city and begin the rest of my life that I often lose focus on the present. Day by day I have the opportunity to work hard to create the future I want, and I want to choose to focus on today. I have created my plan, and it’s a wonderful plan that I couldn’t be more excited about, but for now it’s time to focus on today. To better myself each and everyday and take advantage of the time I have before June. There is so much to be accomplished in the present that it would be a crime to waste it. It would be easy to slide by doing the minimum amount of work and just consuming my life with Netflix (not that I don’t enjoy my Netflix, just in moderation). However, I refuse to do that.

Live for today and work hard to live a life that is full of fulfillment and happiness.

13 thoughts on “The Destination

  1. Great post! I have been reading personal development about plans and being more present, so I have been really trying to work on that more! It is SO SO easy to get caught up in what is to come and just skim by. I hope NYC is working out for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Destination — Spinning Atlas – Journal Edge

  3. Awesome post. All the very best for your move to NYC. I could not help chuckling at the remark of Netflix, I have been trying no to get sucked in to screen time world, though I love my share of screen time , but life filled with moments is larger than screen times

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment